I spent a lovely weekend in Blueridge this weekend and was amazed at how much the downtown area has changed in the last 5-7 years. There are now several fine dining establishments in downtown Blueridge whereas I remember only a sandwich shop or two and a mexican restaurant just a few years ago. My friend and I enjoyed a delicious lunch at Black Sheep, a very charming restaurant that is located in what appears to be an authentic old home. We arrived at 2:00p.m. concerned that we may have just missed the lunch “window” but were pleasantly surprised that we were invited in most graciously and assured that lunch service continues until 3:00 p.m.. Although there was seating on the porch and there are ample heaters there, we decided to stay in the dining room where we felt could get more of the flavor of the restaurant. The experience was delightful and the food delectable. I tried the white bean and kale soup and my friend and I both had the rare tuna salad; both items were exceptional! We passed on dessert and took a walk instead,

The art galleries and boutiques once in short supply, are plentiful and have interesting and unique items to see and/or purchase. We had a wonderful afternoon and finished up by 5:00 to head home and think about dinner 🙂

